All Other Things

Deadbeat Darling

Posted on: March 18, 2008

So, you know those bands that contact you on myspace and ask you to add them and listen to their music? Yeah, well I do not usually acknowledge those requests. Actually, I do not acknowledge the requests of people I do not know. However, I did answer this one message I got. The deciding factor? He mentioned Kamron Hack. Kamron is a fantastic individual. I seriously have never heard her say anything negative about anyone. Ever. Furthermore, she is a fantastic and fabulously talented singer. In short, I think she is amazing. Oh and I recently (and when I say recently, I mean 2005 or 2006) found out that she was the voice talent on one of my favourite Disney TV movies: Polly. One of the most fabulous moments in life.

But I digress. The reason for this post is to highlight a new band that I discovered. Well, they kinda contacted me. Joseph King (lead singer and guitarist) contacted me on myspace because I have Kamron Hack listed as one of my favourite singers. He went to school with her and she is also one of his favourite people. He told me of a show that he and his band were playing in DC and invited me to it. I nearly did not go because I had a prior engagement. However, I found out that it was feasible and so I went with two friends. Unfortunately, by the time we got there, the band had finished their set. We did not get to see them play, which is sad, however, we did get to meet the band members, which was really cool.

INTRODUCING:

DEADBEAT DARLING!

deadbeat-cd-cover.gif

Even though we were not able to see them play live, I did get a CD and it is awesome. This is how they describe their sound:

Imagine the early Police, Manu Chao and The Cure collaborating to write a Quentin Tarantino movie soundtrack. Sprinkle in the energy of a late 60’s feel good anthem, some modern day indie-rock soundscapism, and you have the ingredients of Brooklyn-based Deadbeat Darling.

I love the song Let it Go. I love all the songs, but the first words of the chorus of this song are the best:

Just to make you laugh I’ll try almost anything…

The band has such a different sound than the cookie cutter bands out there. Their musicality and lyrics are fabulous. And they have a trumpet player! Fabulous! Visit their myspace page and have a look and listen. You will be glad you did.

Deadbeat Darling: Belle Epoch – A+

joseph-king-and-me-r.jpg
Leave a Reply

