All Other Things

Thank God for fabulous friends…with cars

Posted on: March 19, 2008

I know I was saying I was feeling homesick a few days ago and I was. It was simply for missed people. My family, especially, and my friends. And I know I have had a few troubles concerning people here in VA, however, God always takes care of me. And I do have some great friends here. Five that I would like to highlight are Kristie, Amy, Gretchen, Julie C., and Leila

Kristie – she is basically my twin. It is dangerous when we are together. I do not think my stomach muscles would be nearly as strong if she was not my friend. We basically laugh non-stop when we are together. We do not have to talk to know what each other is laughing about. Anyway, she is fabulous because she has offered to pick me up from the metro station every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday after my acting class. These classes end at 10pm at the earliest. Most of the time she would have to leave her house at approx. 11:15 or 11:30 to pick me up. I did not ask. She offered. I was completely planning on taking a taxi home from the meto on those nights for 4 weeks. It would have been $10 a time, but I did not think I had a choice. Kristie gave me a choice. I am overwhelmed with gratitude and she shrugs and says it’s what a friend should do. Thank you friend!

Amy: She will pick me up for choir and church even though she does not live too close to me. Never have I heard her complain and I have never felt awkward asking her for a ride. Many who know me know that I am not too comfortable asking for things, like rides. If I ask once and I feel I am encroaching, then I will not ask again and I will do things like take a taxi (’cause I hate walking anywhere the dark). Amy makes me call her, will call and offer and will even apologize if she is late. She’s the one doing the favour! She has even defended me when people have told her that I should “find my own way to get somewhere” (like I do not feel bad enough).

Gretchen – Another self-less individual. She also drives me to choir and church when needed and she never complains. When I was home for Christmas she contacted me to ask if I needed a ride from the airport! I do not even expect people to remember when I’m flying in! She’s incredible and one of the funniest people alive.

Julie – Another girl who is willing to go out of her way to drive me places. She is awesome! Just this last Sunday she called to see if I wanted to go to evening service at church. She was already there, but was willing to come and pick me up so I could go. She is awesome!

Leila – She is my roommate and will go out of her way to drive me to my internship. I have never even asked, but she offers. She will even apologize if she has to go into work later or earlier, like she has scorned me. She’s awesome. She does not have to do it, but she does. I never feel awkward and she even lets me use her car if needed.

I guess by now you have noticed that I often need rides to places. I have no car here in VA and in September 2007 I had to learn the metro system. I have asked for/gotten rides from people and very often I feel like I am a hinderance. But with these girls, I never have to feel bad. God is good, because before I moved here, my dad and I were trying to weigh the options of getting a car. When I had to move in September, I was thinking that I would have to get a car somehow, but I could not afford it. It turns out that God uses other people to bless and these girls are examples of such. It is amazing.

Thank you ladies! Thank you God!

3 Responses to "Thank God for fabulous friends…with cars"

I love you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am glad you have people there that love you unlike your other rude roommates that i do not like very much… ohhh I told Daddy and Mommy about Brooks Institute… I’m soo excited!!!

[…] with a ride, or else I would be forced to take a taxi or the metro or shuttle or something. Again, my friends are AWESOME and all offered to drive/find a way to get me there. Amy Pauline was the lucky […]

Leave a Reply

