All Other Things

Do We Women Really Have That Much Power?

Posted on: April 5, 2008

So, a few days ago my devotion was taking from Judges 13. I take my devotions from a book called Solo: The Message//Remix:Solo – An Uncommon Devotional.

solo.jpg

Carlos had written about it on Ragamuffin Soul. Anyway, Judges 13 is the story of Samson, the strongest man in the world, but apparently the weakest man, when it came to women. Although my devotional told me to read only Judges 13, I continued to read from Samson’s birth to his death. What I do not understand is why Samson was enamored (and whipped) so many times by his women.

Ok, I’ll give him the first one. What happened was that he got married to this beautiful Philistine woman and during his wedding feast, he told his Philistine guests a riddle (Judges 14:14):

“Out of the eater, something to eat;
out of the strong, something sweet.”

He gave the men 7 days to answer it. The prize to the winner was thirty linen garments and thirty sets of clothes (Samson to the men if he lost; the men to Samson if they lost). For three days, the men could not answer the riddle. On the fourth day, the men threatened Samson’s wife into getting the answer. She threw herself on him, sobbing, he gave her the answer and then she, in turn relayed it onto the men.

Before sunset on the seventh day the men of the town said to him,
“What is sweeter than honey?
What is stronger than a lion?”
Samson said to them,
“If you had not plowed with my heifer,
you would not have solved my riddle.”

Samson had to pay (and he did… very angrily). Like I said, I’ll give him that one. He trusted her.

The part I do not understand is Samson with Delilah. Was she so beautiful that he would still accept her after she repeatedly betrayed him? Long story short, Samson defeated the Philistines time and time again. They were annoyed (to say the least) and wanted to know the secret of his strength in order to defeat him. Again, the rulers of the Philistines sought out his girl, Delilah. This time, they didn’t threaten her, but instead bribed her. Eleven hundred shekels of silver from each of the rulers was enough.

Alright, I admit, past relationships should not affect present relationships. If a person lets you down, it’s no fair to hold it against another person. But how about when a person continually betrays you? Delilah did it three times:

In Judges 16:6 Delilah told Samson, “Tell me the secret of your great strength and how you can be tied up and subdued.” Tied up and subdued? Really? The first three times he told her lies.

The first time he told her: If they bind me with seven green withs that were never dried, then shall I be weak, and be as another man.

The second time he told her: If they bind me fast with new ropes that never were occupied, then shall I be weak, and be as another man.

The third time he said” If thou weavest the seven locks of my head with the web.

After all those times, she did what he said and called the Philistines. While the Philistines hid, she yelled,”The Philistines be upon thee, Samson.” His power had not gone and so he was able to beat them.

After the third time he lied to her, she pouted and questioned his love. That did it. And he told her the truth. She betrayed him one last time and the result: the Philistines got him, plucked his eyes out, enslaved him and made him dance for them.

My question: what the heck was he thinking after the first, “The Philistines be upon thee, Samson!” The second time? The third time?

Tags: , ,

1 Response to "Do We Women Really Have That Much Power?"

Probably thinking about what most guys think about when they keep getting back with women that they know are bad for them… booty.

Leave a Reply

