All Other Things

I shot me some guns. I don’t really like guns, but that was fun!

Posted on: April 24, 2008

I went on a field with my internship. It was fabulous. We went to the police department shooting range. First we had a mini version of the training that new cadets go through. Gun responsibility, state of mind, choice making, etc. We then were led to a room to meet Milo. Milo is a computerized interaction simulation. It is used to train an individual to make split second decision. That was also fabulous.

We then got to shoot in the range. After the jolt of my first shot (it was a revolver), I became more comfortable. I went on to shoot a glock and a machine gun. I shot dozens of rounds.

This experience gave a new understanding of what police officers have to go through. People believe that it is really easy to shoot. It’s harder than it looks. Now, put a live person in front of you and a split second decision and a highly volatile situation. People need to give police officers a break.

No, I’m not the new Charlton Heston, but I had fun.

Leave a Reply

