All Other Things

Engagements and weddings and babies! Oh, my!

Posted on: August 19, 2008

My friend WOO WOO just got engaged this past weekend. That makes about 180,000 of my friends.

My cousin just got married two Saturdays ago (Sadly, I could not attend). She is the first one of us to have done so.

My close friend got married at the end of July (I could not attend this one either). Of our group of nine, she is the fifth to get married. Oh, but two are dating and two are single. Guess which category I fall under.

A long lost friend just found me on Facebook. Literally right now. She is engaged.

My roommate from uni who is one of my best friends, well, up until last year, we were in the same situation. She had never had a boyfriend and really had never been asked out. But things change and she got married in May.

My best friend from high school is one year older than yours truly. She is married with four children (one being my beautiful goddaughter…oh and the other three are beautiful too).

I have not even had a boyfriend for goodness sakes! I have not even had a proper date. This is not what I imagined my life would be like when I was younger. When I was 7, I knew that I would be married with kids by the age of 25. I knew I would be just like Claire Huxstable.

I’m nearly 27.

So, you can forgive  me if I say that I feel like I am behind. Many and when I say many, I mean MANNNNNY of my friends are at least engaged, if not married, if not mothers. I even torture myself with reading adoption blogs such as this one. This fantastic individual is a year younger than me and a mother of two. So jealous.

Therefore, I see myself as a late bloomer. My married-mother-of-four-best friend and I were talking two night ago and laughed about the fact that her children will be my babysitters. Well, she laughed and I cried. But I guess my sobs could have sounded like chuckles. *SIGH* The good part is that I will have a large pool of babysitters to choose from, which could prove to be handy.

I have almost resigned myself to getting an imaginary boyfriend just like this cunning & brilliant young lady (not cunning and brilliant just for having an imaginary boyfriend, but because… well if you read her blog, you’d know. It’s fantastic!). Obviously it would not be the same imaginary boyfriend because that would be adultery.

But after receiving news, hearing engagement stories, opening wedding invitations and viewing baby pictures, I have to force myself to take a step back and realize that what my friends (you know the ones that try to comfort you and provide reasons to why you are still single? No? Oh, I do.) say may be true. Perhaps I have not allowed myself to be available for a relationship. As many know, I have not been in one place for a long time. I am like a rolling stone (ok, so, I am not exactly like the song, mainly because I am a girl, among other things. But I do wear hats). Plus, and I have heard this many times from different people, I [may] intimidate guys. Sad but true. I do not mean to. I do not even know what I do that intimidates them. I am a nice girl. But apparently I manage to scare them off.

And some say that I have to put myself out there. Like if I find a guy attractive, I should make the first move. Umm… there is just one tiny thing that I am afraid of: rejection. Also, forgive me, but I am a little old fashioned. I feel like a guy should make the move. But I guess if they are intimidated, they won’t, huh?

Oh, and it is kinda… funny(*sigh*) when the only people who are telling you that you are good looking are other girls or gay guys. Appreciated, but I cannot do much with that, can I?

Sometimes I am fine with my single status. Sometimes I am not. But ultimately, I know I must wait. And I am waiting. I am waiting for God’s best. Someone who will do things like this for me. And I know he will be amazing.

But seriously God, must this drag on? How much longer must I wait? hehe…*SIGH*

Anyone know a single guy who is a true Christian and who is hot?

Just joking…ish.

Tell me what category you fall under? Engaged? Married? Kids? Etc.

6 Responses to "Engagements and weddings and babies! Oh, my!"

Love the header image—you are one gorgeous woman!

I’m single, actually our stories are eerily similar. The only problem is I don’t have a hot body (could shed 100lbs and still be called fat. (No, really.) and my hair looks a hot mess 95% of the time.

I go from being ok with my single state to angry to very bitter and jealous. Only God can help me with that.

Oh my… *Killing Me Softly starts playing in the background* I’m starting to get *those* questions from my mom and aunties and uncles, like “so when will we be coming back to visit for your wedding?” and blah blah blah. One of my best friends just got married and now is saying things like “God will provide a man for you” while patting me on the knee with pity in his eyes. I agree sometimes I enjoy being single, then there are times when I have the overwhelming need to be part of a couple. Great post!

[…] Why I can’t find an awesome Christian man who LOVES the Lord, loves kids, is athletic, is responsible, is respectful and plays the cello (haha, jk…or am […]

I just read this & no worries my friend I’m 2 years older and have the same issues 🙂 But we’re both good looking, amazing girls….so, the right men will be super blessed to have us SOON!! & remember, 08’s not over. & 08 is the year of the mate. & 09’s the year he’s mine 🙂 YEAH! 🙂 I look forward to inviting you to my wedding soon & going to yours soon…in Jesus’ Name!! 🙂

Hi Ruth! Just so you know I also had a time line – married by 25 and children by 28! I spent most of my 24th year being completely depressed because I wasn’t even dating so my perfect plan was busted!! At age 27 I decided to be happy being an independent self sufficient single woman when my wonderful and amazing husband finally asked me out. So although my timeline was slightly altered – married at 28 – 1st of 2 amazing children at age 32 – I can’t imagine it working out any better! It’s all in the plan!!

God’s time is truly the best when it comes to love, life and relationships. Your life is not in competition with anyone. Much hugs from YNC

Leave a Reply

