All Other Things

For my adoption blogging friends with black children

Posted on: October 17, 2008

You all know I frequent adoption blogs quite… well, frequently. Anyway, many of these wonderful parents have adopted black children. Some from the US, some from Ethiopia, some from Sierra Leone, some from Haiti and some from other countries. This post if for them.

As many know or came to find out, black hair care is kinda confusing. Especially for, well, Caucasian people who did not know how different our hair really is. I am proud of you parents because you are trying to learn. And I am here to help.

Some parents opt for getting their kid’s hair done at the salon, which is cool. But I believe that there are some of you who want to learn how to do your children’s hair yourself. That’s cool too. And doable. And I want to help you with that. So, without further ado, I introduce to you: Marquetta Breslin.

Who is this woman, you ask. Well, she just happens to be an individual with the best black hair care teaching methods that I have found so far. Don’t even remember why I looked her up or how I found her, but I did. And she rocks. What she does is produce step by step instructional DVDs on how to do different black hair styles. These styles include (various types of) braids, twists, cornrows, weaves, wigs, etc. She also teaches how to use extensions.

The DVDs are actually quite inexpensive for what you learn and in the long run, will save you a lot of money because you wouldn’t have to pay someone else to do your children’s hair. For beginners, I suggest getting these DVDs first.

These two videos include instructions on micro braids*, kinky twists, weaves, no knot cornrows, design cornrows, cornrows with extensions. Now, most of you, if not all, have no use for weaves now as your children are too young, but it’s still cool to learn. Although I learned to do these styles a long time ago, I bought the beginning DVDs. And I still learned a lot. In fact, as soon as I can afford it, I plan to purchase her lace wig system DVDs (do not worry if you don’t know what I mean by lace wigs. You do not need to know what those are yet). 🙂

No, I am not Mrs. Breslin’s publicist. No, I am not receiving compensation for advertising. I am just passing on a good thing to good people. And trust me, she’s good.

So, look her up and let me know what you think. And if you do end up buying some DVDs, tell me what you think. Tell your friends about this post. Link to me. Do whatever. I promise, you will not regret it. And if you have any questions, I am available.

You all (and other adoptive families) are my role models. I have wanted to adopt my whole life and I will as soon as I am able. Right now, I live vicariously through you and it’s brilliant.

Your familes are amazing.

*Now, many might want to murder me if they think that I am saying put micro braids on little kids. But I’m not. If you learn to micro braid, you learn to braid. And so for bigger braids, all you need is more hair. 🙂

**pictures and information taken from http://www.braidsybreslin.com

2 Responses to "For my adoption blogging friends with black children"

Hmm… very interesting. Once Anna gets some hair, I will probably have to try these out!

I just recently wrote an article about tips that people who adopt African American children can use, on my blog>/a>.

Nice post! It is good to see that there is somewhere that they can turn to, when looking for guidance.

African American Hair Care

Leave a Reply

